Sri Lanka squad announced for Asia Cup 2023; Hasaranga ruled out due to injury

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the 15-member squad selected by the SLC’s selectors to take part in the 2023 Men’s ODI Asia Cup.

The Minister of Sports and Youth, Roshan Ranasinghe has approved the squad, the SLC said.

1) Dasun Shanaka – Captain
2) Pathum Nissanaka
3) Dimuth Karunaratne
4) Kusal Janith Perera
5) Kusal Mendis – Vice Captain
6) Charith Asalanka
7) Dhananjaya de Silva
8) Sadeera Samarawickrama
9) Maheesh Theekshana
10) Dunith Wellalage
11) Matheesha Pathirana
12) Kasun Rajitha
13) Dushan Hemantha
14) Binura Fernando
15) Pramod Madushan

Meanwhile, the SLC mentioned that Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka, and Lahiru Kumara, who were selected in the original squad, will not take part owing to ‘injuries’.

In addition, Binura Fernando and Pramod Madushan’s names have been sent to the Ministry of Sports and Youth for approval, as they were late inclusions to replace injured players.

Kusal Janith Perera is recovering from a “flu”, which he suffered, and will join the squad once fully recovered, according to the SLC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *