Committee report on the incidents that took place in Parliament on April 21, handed over to the Speaker

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) – The report of the Committee appointed to look in to the incidents that took place in Parliament chamber and its premises on April 21, 2021 was handed over to the Hon. Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardhane by the Chairperson of the committee Hon. Deputy Speaker Ranjith Siyambalapitiya today (06).

Ministers Chamal Rajapaksa and MP Anura Priyadarshana Yapa who served as members of the committee and the Secretary to the Committee, Assistant Secretary General of Parliament Tikiri Jayathilake were also present at the occasion.

While claiming that the Committee has considered at length the possible adverse effects of such incidents on the entire Parliament, the Chairperson of the committee Deputy Speaker Ranjith Siyambalapitiya said that short-term and long-term measures that can be taken to prevent such incidents in the future have also been included in the report.

This Committee was appointed by the Hon. Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena on 23rd April to recommend necessary steps that should be taken to prevent a recurrence of the situation similar to that which occurred on 21st April.

Ministers Chamal Rajapaksa, Keheliya Rambukwella, State Minister Susil Premajayantha, Members of Parliament Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Imtiaz Bakeer Marker, R. M. Ranjith Madduma Bandara and M.A Sumanthiran were members of the committee.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *