Ministers Wimal Weerawansa and Udaya Gammanpila removed from ministerial posts

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) –Wimal Weerawansa, Minister of Industries and Udaya Gammanpila, Minister of Energy have been removed from their respective ministerial portfolios by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa yesterday afternoon (03).

The President’s Media Division said President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has removed the two MPs from their Cabinet minister posts with effect from this evening (03) in accordance with the powers vested in him under Article 47 (II) (b) of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.

Meanwhile, government sources say that the President will make a cabinet reshuffle soon.

Local Ada Derana reported that Minister Gamini Lokuge had confirmed that he was sworn in as the new Minister of Energy and Pavithra Wanniarachchi, who was serving as the Transport Minister, was sworn in as the new Minister of Power, the post previously held by him.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *