Appointment of Deshal de Mel as a Director at Janashakthi Insurance PLC

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –Janashakthi Insurance PLC, one of the key players in Sri Lanka’s insurance industry, announced the appointment of Deshal de Mel as an Independent Non-Executive Director of the organization.

Speaking on the occasion, Chairman of Janashakthi Insurance PLC, Prakash Schaffter stated, “It is with great pleasure I welcome Deshal toJanashakthi Insurance PLC as an Independent Non-Executive Director. He brings tremendous value through his knowledge, skills and expertise to the industry. We foresee that Deshal will be instrumental in driving the organization to greater heights while strengthening our business strategies.”

Deshal holds a BA in Philosophy, Political Science, Economics from the University of Oxfordand obtained his Master of International Political Economy from the London School of Economics in the year 2006.He is an economist who has experience across the government, private sector, and academia.Currently, he is a Research Director at Verité Research Pvt. Ltd, an independent research institute. He is a Non-Executive Independent Director of Sampath Bank PLCandCapital Alliance Investments Limited.

He has held several positions in reputed Governmental and Non-governmental entities in the past. He previously served as an Economic Advisor to the Finance Ministry. He was aCommissioner at the Securities and Exchange Commission of Sri Lanka from 2018 to 2019. He has also been a member of the National Trade Negotiation Committee during the period of 2017 to 2019, and is a member of the Sri Lanka Economic Association.

“I am excited to be joining Janashakthi Insurance PLC, one of Sri Lanka’s leading organizations in the Insurance industry. I look forward to contribute to the journey ahead,” stated Deshal de Mel, the newly appointed Independent Non-Executive Director of Janashakthi Insurance PLC.

With the appointment of Deshal de Mel, the Board of Directors of Janashakthi Insurance PLC comprises of Prakash Schaffter – Chairman, Ravi Liyanage, Ramesh Schaffter, Manjula Mathews, Eardley Perera, Nathan Sivagananathan, Avindra Rodrigo and Deshalde Mel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *