Sri Lanka plans to celebrate 74th National Independence Day under the theme ‘Prosperous Motherland that Overcomes Challenges’

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – The first meeting of the committee organizing the 74th Independence Day Celebrations – 2022 was held under the patronage of Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa at Temple Trees Yesterday (29).

At the meeting, the Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa has decided that the 74th Independence Day celebrations should be held proudly at the Independence Square in Colombo on February 04th under the theme ‘Prosperous Motherland that Overcomes Challenges’.

The Prime Minister instructed the Foreign Minister Prof. G.L. Peiris to extend an invitation to all Diplomats, including Ambassadors and High Commissioners, to celebrate the 74th Independence Day.

Responsibility for inviting local special guests assigned to Chamal Rajapaksa, Minister of Irrigation and State Minister of Home Affairs, National Defense and Disaster Management.

The Prime Minister paid special attention to the responsibilities of the Ministries and Government Institutions to make the 74th Independence Day celebration a success.

It has been decided to hold the traditional Parithrana Dhamma Sermon that is usually held on the day before the Independence Day on February 2, 2022 at the Independence Hall.

Prof. Kapila Gunawardena, Secretary to the Ministry of Buddha Sasana, Religious and Cultural Affairs has been entrusted with the task of recommending places of worship and times for Buddhist, Hindu, Islamic, Catholic and Christian religious observances held to coincide with Independence Day.

A project to plant 500,000 saplings will also be implemented to coincide with the Independence Day celebrations.

The Prime Minister also emphasized that only those who have been fully vaccinated should participate in the festivities in accordance with proper health procedures.

Ministers Chamal Rajapaksa, Dinesh Gunawardena, GL Peiris, Janaka Bandara Tennakoon, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Secretary to the Prime Minister Gamini S. Senarath, Ministry Secretaries SR Attygalle, Anuradha Wijekoon, Prof. Kapila Gunawardena, JJ Ratnasiri, NHM Chithrananda, Chief of Defense Staff General Shavendra Silva, Western Province Chief Secretary JMC Jayanthi Wijetunga, Additional Secretaries. C Ranepura, Thilak Hettiarachchi, SJS Chandragupta, Senior Assistant Secretaries Priyanga Nanayakkara, Nayana Sangallulige, Director Naval Administration Commodore KAPSK Kariyapperuma, Director General of President (Media) Communication) Sudeva Hettiarachchi and Director Suren Nuwan Tharaka were present at the meeting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *