Ceremonial opening of Fifth Session of Ninth Parliament today

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) –  The Fifth Session of the Ninth Parliament will be ceremonially declared open by President Ranil Wickremesinghe today (Feb.07).

Sri Lanka Parliament was prorogued with effect from midnight on 26 January, marking the closure of the Fourth Session of the Ninth Parliament.

When a new session is kicked off, the President presides over the ceremonial opening of the Parliament and presents the government’s policy statement. In the past, the policy statement was referred to as the Throne Speech and was presented by the Governor.

The adjournment debate on the government’s policy statement is scheduled to be held over two days, on Thursday (Feb.08) and Friday (Feb.09), from 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.

Meanwhile, the Resolution under the Essential Public Services Act is scheduled to be approved without a debate on 08 February, before continuing the adjournment debate on the government’s policy statement.

After the Parliament is prorogued, the questions and motions that have not been considered by the Parliament until then are abolished, and the Members of Parliament thus have to take it up again in accordance with the Standing Orders.

In addition, all other committees except the Liaison Committee of Parliament, Committee on High Posts, Select Committees and Sectoral Oversight Committees, should be re-constituted following the beginning of the new session.

The first session of the Ninth Parliament was held from 20 August 2020 to 12 December 2021, and the second session from 18 January 2022 to 28 July 2022. The third session of the Ninth Parliament was held from 03 August 2022 to 27 January 2023. By the time the session ended midnight on 26 January, the Parliament had met for 106 days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *